prprogram:2004-05 Concert Season

A 20th Century Retrospective: The American Review
a series of five lecture-recitals showcasing the history of American chamber music from 1900 to the present

october 16 - Concert I: 1900's - 1930's
paradise valley community college
featuring the compositions of Charles Ives, Henry Cowell, Aaron Copland, George Gershwin, Ruth Crawford-Seeger, Walter Piston, Cole Porter, Jerome Kern
press release

november 4th

december 11 - Concert II: 1940's - 1950's
glendale community college
Amores - John Cage
Child of Tree - John Cage
Sonata for Clarinet and Piano - Leonard Bernstein
Sonata for Piano, Op. 26 - Samuel Barber
Sonata for Solo Violin - Roger Sessions
4 Systems - Earle Brown
Eight Pieces for Four Timpani - Elliot Carter
Concerto for Violin and Five Percussionists - Lou Harrison
press release

february 6 - Concert III: 1960's - 1970's
phoenix college
In C - Terry Riley
Synchronisms No. 1 - Mario Davidovsky
Straights of Magellan - Morton Feldman
Drumming (Part I) - Steve Reich
press release

april 2 - Concert IV: 1980's - 1990's
glendale community college
Music for Hi-Hat and Computer - Cort Lippe
Wings - Joan Tower
Sonata for Flute & Piano Op. 23 - Lowell Liebermann
Partita for Solo Guitar - Aaron Jay Kernis
Tunnels - Stuart Saunders Smith
To The Earth - Frederic Rzewski
Suspended Bodies - Christopher Scinto

april 21st

may 14 - Concert V: 2000 - Beyond
paradise valley community college
Spiked - Glenn Hackbarth
Sonata in Three Movements - Ellen Taaffe Zwilich
Dark Wind - John Luther Adams
Ulterior Motives #2 - Christopher Scinto
Tuning - Brett Reed
Remaining Grace - Eric Schultz
FNDMV - Eric Schultz